Melanie Gilligan

Einzelausstellung im Rahmen von Die Letzten ihrer Art
26.06. – 05.09.2010

„Of course you’re special, special like everyone else.“
Melanie Gilligan, Popular Unrest, 2010


Melanie Gilligan works in various media such as video, performance, text, installation and music. Her new film, Popular Unrest, is a multi-episode drama set in a future much like the present. Here, however, all exchange transactions and social interactions are overseen by a system called ‘the Spirit’. A rash of unexplained killings has broken out across the globe. They often take place in public but witnesses never see an assailant. Just as mysteriously, groups of unrelated people are suddenly coming together everywhere, amassing new members rapidly. Unaccountably, they feel a deep and persistent sense of connection to one another. With this film Gilligan is reflecting a state of the society which is rather mirroring the casual meetings within the internet and the relationships we know from television than leading back to the principles of bourgeois society.

Consequently, Popular Unrest will be published in the internet: www.popularunrest.org

The film explores a world in which the self is reduced to physical biology, directly subject to the needs of capital. Hotels offer bed-warming servants with every room, people are fined for not preventing foreseeable illness, weight watching foods eat the digester from the inside and the unemployed repay their debt to society in physical energy. If on the one hand this suggests the complete domination of life by exchange value do the groupings offer a way out?

Shot in London with a cast of twelve main actors, the film’s form is partly inspired by David Cronenberg’s ‘body horror’ and American television dramas CSI, Dexter and Bones, where reality is perceived through a pornographic forensics of empirical and visceral phenomena.
The five episodes of the film will each be screened individually throughout the installation. As with Gilligan’s recent video works, the film’s episodic structure takes its cue from television and the medium’s ability to dispense its storyline in stages.

Popular Unrest is co-commissioned by Chisenhale Gallery, London, Kolnischer Kunstverein, Cologne, Presentation House Gallery, North Vancouver and Walter Phillips Gallery, The Banff Centre, Banff. Supported by Galleria Franco Soffiantino, Turin.

Furthermore Gilligan is showing two films in the cinema which are by subject connected to the new film production. Crisis in the Credit System (2008), a four-part fictional mini drama, is about a giant merchant bank inviting its employees to a meeting to develop strategies to get out of the financial crisis. The single screen film Self-capital (2009) shows capitalism as a person undergoing a therapy.

Melanie Gilligan was born in Toronto in 1979. She currently lives and works in London and New York. Gilligan completed a BA (Hons) Fine Art at Central Saint Martins in 2002 and was a Fellow with the Whitney Museum of American Art’s Independent Study Programme in 2004-5. Recent exhibitions include: Chisenhale Gallery London (2010), Transmission Gallery Glasgow (2008) as part of the Glasgow International Festival and Franco Soffiantino Gallery, Turin (2009). In October 2009 Gilligan was the recipient of a Paul Hamlyn Award for Artists.

Melanie Gilligan

Einzelausstellung im Rahmen von Die Letzten ihrer Art
26.06. – 05.09.2010

„Of course you’re special, special like everyone else.“
Melanie Gilligan, Popular Unrest, 2010

Melanie Gilligan greift in ihren Arbeiten verschiedene Medien und Genre auf wie Video, Performance, Text, Installationen und Musik. Ihr neuer Film Popular Unrest ist ein Episodendrama, das in einer unserer Gegenwart sehr ähnlichen Zukunft spielt. Dort allerdings werden alle Transaktionen und sozialen Interaktionen durch ein System, mit dem Namen the Spirit, überwacht. So geschehen rund um die Welt eine Anzahl unerklärlicher Morde, die häufig in der Öffentlichkeit verübt werden, dennoch sehen Zeugen nie einen Angreifer. Auf ebenso mysteriöse Weise versammeln sich plötzlich überall Menschen, die zuvor in keinerlei Beziehung zueinander standen. In den neuen Gruppierungen finden schnell immer mehr Menschen zusammen, die unerklärlicherweise eine tiefe und beständige Verbindung zueinander empfinden.
Der Film erkundet eine Welt, in der das Selbst auf seine physische Seite reduziert und unmittelbar den Anforderungen des Kapitals unterworfen ist. Hier bieten Hotels Bedienstete zum Vorwärmen der Betten an. Menschen werden bestraft, weil sie sich nicht gegen vorhersehbare Krankheiten geschützt haben. Lebensmittel, die das Gewicht kontrollieren sollen, tun das indem sie den Verdauenden von innen verzehren und Arbeitslose zahlen der Gesellschaft ihre Schulden in Körperenergie zurück. Wenn dies einerseits auf die vollständige Dominanz von Tauschwerten über das Leben hinweist, bieten dann die neuen Gruppierungen einen Ausweg?
Der Film wurde in London mit einer Besetzung von zwölf Hauptdarstellern gedreht. Seine Form wurde einerseits durch David Cronenbergs so genannten „Body Horror“ inspiriert und andererseits durch amerikanische Krimiserien wie CSI, Dexter und Bones, in denen Körperlichkeit mit psychologischen Aspekten des Horrors verbunden wird.
Die fünf Episoden des Films werden in der Ausstellungshalle des Kölnischen Kunstvereins jeweils einzeln gezeigt. Wie auch in ihren letzten Videoarbeiten orientiert sich Gilligan mit der episodischen Struktur ihres Films am Medium Fernsehen. Auf einer eigenen Website sind die Filmepisoden ebenfalls zugänglich.

Im Kino zeigt Gilligan zwei weitere Filme, die thematisch an die neue Produktion anschließen. In dem vierteiligen Film Crisis in the Credit System (2008) erzählt Gilligan in einem fiktiven Drama von einer großen Investmentbank, die ihre Angestellten zu einer Sitzung einlädt, um Strategien für den Weg aus der Finanzkrise zu entwickeln. In dem Single-Screen-Film Self-capital (2009) wird der Kapitalismus als eine Person dargestellt, die sich einer Therapie unterzieht.

Der Film Popular Unrest wurde gemeinschaftlich von der Chisenhale Gallery, London, dem Kölnischen Kunstverein, der Presentation House Gallery, North Vancouver und der Walter Philipps Gallery, The Banff Centre, Banff produziert sowie von der Galleria Franco Soffiantinto, Turin, dem Kulturamt der Stadt Köln, der Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung und der Rheinland AG unterstützt.

Melanie Gilligan, 1979 in Toronto geboren, lebt und arbeitet derzeit in London und New York. Gilligan schloss 2002 den Bachelor (Hons) Fine Art am Central Saint Martins College, London ab und war 2004-2005 Stipendiatin des Independent Study Programme am Whitney Museum of American Art, New York. Zuletzt stellte sie als Teil des Glasgow International Festival in der Transmission Gallery, Glasgow (2008) und in der Galleria Franco Soffiantinto, Turin (2009) aus. Im Oktober 2009 erhielt Gilligan den Paul Hamlyn Award for Artists.

http://www.popularunrest.org

http://www.die-letzten-ihrer-art.org