Cut-Up
and Wolfgang Tillmans
November 23rd – December 19th, 2018

KKV-Einladung-Cut Up-181030-oberen Drittel_neu

Opening on November 22nd, 7 pm

Cut-Up is a four-week program of exhibitions, lectures, music, performance, screenings, and a magazine launch. Artists, musicians, writers, publishers and an international project space were all invited to transform the various spaces of the Kunstverein (exhibition halls, theaters, and studios) with a wide array of activities and diverse programming. Cut-Up is a method of collage imagined first by Brian Gysin and William S. Burroughs as a strategy that implements the cutting and re-arranging of text, images and sound as a means of liberating them of their (pre-)designated meanings and categories and (re-)assigning them to new systems of readings and understanding. The invited guests all have their own unique approaches to this kind of strategy. Together, this cacophony of mediums and tactics creates a unique kind of “living-structure” that privileges the dynamic over the static – one that is constantly changing, shifting and adapting according to its own conditions and needs. With this fluid structure of exhibitions and events, the Kunstverein becomes a site for a diversity of international and regional interactions that champion new avenues of engagement and collaboration.

Together with the participants:
Michael Amstad, Marie Angeletti, Bonnie Camplin, Eric D. Clark, Kerstin Cmelka, Marte Eknæs, Helene Hegemann, Karl Holmqvist, Ellen Yeon Kim, Mario Mentrup, Luzie Meyer, Johanna Odersky, Deborah Schamoni, Mark von Schlegell, Starship, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Nicolau Vergueiro, Adrian Williams

Sorry I’m Late. XOXO Echo
Upon the invitation of the Kunstverein, the formely Zurich-based exhibition space, Taylor Macklin, will organize an exhibition addressing the nature and possible interpretations of spaces and their conditions.
With: Der Alltag (Sensationen des Gewöhnlichen), Andrea Büttner, Nicolas Buzzi, Brice Dellsperger, Maya Deren, Ayasha Guerin, Eva Meyer & Eran Schaerf, Carissa Rodriguez, Ben Rosenthal & Flavio Merlo, Li Tavor, Miriam Yammad, Constantina Zavitsanos

Wolfgang Tillmans
On the occasion of his 2018 Members Edition, Wolfgang Tillmans will build a Playback-Room in the studio space of the Kunstverein, giving visitors the unique possibility to sit and listen to his music under near-perfect conditions on the original vinyl pressing. The Members Editions itself stems from his on-going interest in music and became a special limited edition LP with a specially designed cover and sleeve. The recording is a “Kehrschaufel” (Dustbin)-Concert for the A-Side with a musical collage of edited radio-recordings from the 80s and 90s and the original song, “The Future is Unwritten” from 1985 on the B-Side. Tillmans conceived of the 3-part exhibition series Playback-Room at his non-profit space Between Bridges in 2014, the same year that the space opened at its new location in Berlin after having operated in London since 2006. In 2016, Playback-Room took up residency at the Lenbachhaus in Munich, and was re-animated again as part of his solo exhibition at London’s Tate Modern in 2017.

PROGRAM
Thursday, Nov. 22nd

7pm 
Opening of the exhibition with introduction by Nikola Dietrich

Friday, Nov. 23rd
3-5 pm
 Workshop with Ayasha Guerin

7 pm 
Film screening with Rirkrit Tiravanija’s Karl’s Perfect Day, 2017, 94 min

with an Artists Talk and reading from Karl Holmqvist

Friday, Nov. 30th
7 pm
 Opening of the 2018 Member’s Edition Exhibition
9 pm 
Mark von Schlegell and Ellen Yeon Kim, MUFA (Museum of Unfinished Art) Radio Play / Performance, 40 min

Tuesday, December 4th, 2018, 7 pm
Im Trailerpark der Angreifbaren: A Sideshow-Varieté to the film Die Angreifbaren (Release Anfang 2019)
with Kerstin Cmelka & Mario Mentrup
Guests: Rainer Knepperges and Sven Heuchert

Friday, December 7th, 2018, 7 pm
Lecture and filmcreening: Helene Hegemann & Deborah Schamoni

Thursday, December 13th, 2018, 7 pm
Filmscreenings:
Marte Eknaes & Michael Amstad, A People Mover Evening
& Artist Talk with Nikola Dietrich (in English)

Sunday, December 16th, 2018, 7 pm
Magazine launch: 20 years of Starship, Berlin, 18th edition
Filmscreening and Talk with Bonnie Camplin;
Record Release Musix’ lost its colour with Eric D.Clark

Wednesday, December 19th, 2018, 7 pm
Filmscreening: Luzie Meyer, The Flute, 2018
Exhibition and Performance: Johanna Odersky,
organised by Juliane Duft

All events will be regularly announced on the website and via our newsletter.

Graphic by Karl Holmqvist, 2018

Vorschau: Cut-Up
und Wolfgang Tillmans
23. November – 19. Dezember 2018

KKV-Einladung-Cut Up-181030-oberen Drittel_neu

Eröffnung am 22. November 2018, 19 Uhr

Cut-Up ist ein vierwöchiges Programm von Ausstellungen, Vorträgen, Musik, Performances, Screenings und einer Magazin-Präsentation. KünstlerInnen, MusikerInnen, Autoren, Verleger und ein internationaler Projektraum wurden eingeladen, den Kunstverein mit seinen unterschiedlichen Räumlichkeiten von Ausstellungshalle, Kino, Theatersaal und Studio mit einem aktiven und vielseitigen Programm zu beleben. Die Methode des Cut-Up bezeichnet eine von Brion Gysin und William S. Burroughs ins Leben gerufene Collage-Strategie des Zerschneidens und Neu-Arrangierens, um Texte, Bilder oder Sound von der ihnen zugewiesenen Bedeutung herauszulösen und sie einer anderen, variierenden (Bedeutungs-) Ebene zuzuführen. Die eingeladenen Gäste beziehen sich in unterschiedlicher Weise auf dieses Verfahren. So kann ein Format im Charakter einer „lebendigen Gesamtstruktur“ entstehen, das nicht statisch verweilt, sondern imstande ist, sich kontinuierlich zu verändern und im Wissen um die Vorläufigkeit das Gefühl des Moments verstärkt. So entsteht ein Ort des Zusammenspiels von regionaler und internationaler Interaktion und jede Präsentation befördert vielfältige Kollaborationen, Hybridisierungen und Performativität.

Mit den Teilnehmenden:
Michael Amstad, Marie Angeletti, Bonnie Camplin, Eric D. Clark, Kerstin Cmelka, Marte Eknæs, Helene Hegemann, Karl Holmqvist, Ellen Yeon Kim, Mario Mentrup, Luzie Meyer, Johanna Odersky, Deborah Schamoni, Mark von Schlegell, Starship, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Nicolau Vergueiro, Adrian Williams

Sorry I’m Late. XOXO Echo
Der Einladung des Kölnischen Kunstvereins folgend, organisiert der ehemals in Zürich ansässige Kunstraum Taylor Macklin eine Ausstellung zur Beschaffenheit und Interpretation von Räumen und deren Bedingungen.
Mit: Der Alltag (Sensationen des Gewöhnlichen), Andrea Büttner, Nicolas Buzzi, Brice Dellsperger, Maya Deren, Ayasha Guerin, Eva Meyer & Eran Schaerf, Carissa Rodriguez, Ben Rosenthal & Flavio Merlo, Li Tavor, Miriam Yammad, Constantina Zavitsanos

Wolfgang Tillmans
Anlässlich der Gestaltung der Vereinsgabe 2018 richtet Wolfgang Tillmans eine Art Playback-Room in unserem Studio ein, um den Besuchern die Möglichkeit zu geben, seine Musik von der Langspielplatte zu hören. Für seine Vereinsgabe räumte er seinem fortwährenden Interesse an Musik einen Platz ein und produzierte eine Schallplatte, sowie Cover und Innentasche. Entstanden ist ein „Kehrschaufel“-Konzert für die A-Seite und eine Musik-Collage von selbst mitgeschnittenen Radio-Aufnahmen aus den 80er-und 90er-Jahren, außerdem ein eigener Song „The Future is Unwritten“ von 1985 für die B-Seite. 2014 konzipierte Tillmans bereits die dreiteilige Ausstellungsreihe Playback-Room in seinem non-profit Ausstellungsraum Between Bridges, den er im selben Jahr in Berlin wiedereröffnete, nachdem er seit 2006 in London beheimatet war. 2016 wurden Playback-Rooms im Lenbachhaus in München und 2017 innerhalb einer Einzelausstellung von Wolfgang Tillmans in der Tate Modern eingerichtet.

Veranstaltungen im November

Donnerstag, 22.11.
19 Uhr
Eröffnung der Ausstellung mit Einführung von Nikola Dietrich

Freitag, 23.11.
15 bis 17 Uhr
Workshop mit Ayasha Guerin
19 Uhr
Filmscreening Rirkrit Tiravanija, Karl’s Perfect Day, 2017, 94 min
mit einem Artist Talk und einer Lesung von Karl Holmqvist

Freitag, 30.11.
19 Uhr
Eröffnung der Jahresgaben-Ausstellung 2018
21 Uhr
Mark von Schlegell und Ellen Yeon Kim, MUFA (Museum of Unfinished Art) Radio Play / Performance, 40 min

Die Veranstaltungen werden zudem regelmäßig über unseren Newsletter bekannt gegeben.

Motiv von Karl Holmqvist, 2018