Pure Fiction / Wu Ming
Open Mike Workshop
February 21, 2019

IMG_20180708_191238

Thursday, February 21, 2019, 7 pm

Open Mike Workshop
Pure Fiction / Wu Ming

Pure Fiction, a writing seminar at Frankfurt’s Städelschule lead by author Mark von Schlegell, will conduct an “open mike” writing workshop in the Kölnischer Kunstverein. Author Wu Ming joins as a special guest as members of the seminar perform texts and workshop them publicly. Audience members are encouraged to bring their own texts to workshop.

Wu Ming is a pseudonym for a group of Italian authors formed in 2000 from a subset of the Luther Blisset community in Bologna. The collective is formed of writers active in literature and popular culture. The group authored several novels such as 54 and Manituana. For the open-mike-workshop Pure Fiction will be joined by Wu Ming 1.

From 2011-2018, students of Städelschule invited writer Mark von Schlegell to organise a fiction seminar in the school. Since then Pure Fiction has brought together current and former Städel students to examine and above all produce texts in the most diverse forms possible, from written artistic works and experimental writing to readings and performances that inevitably draw in other aspects of the diverse artistic practices of all the class members. The works of authors from Cervantes to Woolf form the pre–given raw material of the seminar. An engagement with the material and quasi-mystical properties of printed matter have led the class to produce numerous experimental publications, readings and performances on narrative or poetic footings.

The workshop will be conducted in English.
Admission €4 / concessions €2. Free for members.

Image: Pure Fiction

Pure Fiction / Wu Ming
Open Mike Workshop
21. Februar 2019

IMG_20180708_191238

Donnerstag, 21. Februar 2019, 19 Uhr

Open Mike Workshop
Pure Fiction / Wu Ming

Pure Fiction, ein Schreibseminar in der Frankfurter Städelschule unter der Leitung des Schriftstellers Mark von Schlegell, wird im Kölnischen Kunstverein einen Open-Mike-Schreibworkshop veranstalten. Autor Wu Ming tritt als besonderer Gast bei, während die Mitglieder des Seminars Texte lesen und sie öffentlich bearbeiten. Die Teilnehmer werden aufgefordert, ihre eigenen Texte zum Workshop mitzubringen.

Wu Ming ist ein Pseudonym für eine Gruppe italienischer Autoren, die im Jahr 2000 aus einem Teil der Luther Blisset-Gemeinschaft in Bologna gegründet wurde. Das Kollektiv besteht aus Schriftstellern, die in Literatur und Populärkultur tätig sind. Die Gruppe verfasste mehrere Romane wie 54 und Manituana. Für den Open-Mike-Workshop wird Pure Fiction von Wu Ming 1 begleitet.

Von 2011-2018 luden die Studierenden der Städelschule den Schriftsteller Mark von Schlegell ein, ein Literaturseminar in der Schule zu organisieren. Seitdem hat Pure Fiction aktuelle und ehemalige Städel-Studierende zusammengebracht, um Texte in den verschiedensten möglichen Formen zu untersuchen und vor allem zu produzieren, von schriftlichen künstlerischen Arbeiten über experimentelles Schreiben bis hin zu Lesungen und Performances, die unweigerlich andere Aspekte der vielfältigen künstlerischen Praktiken aller teilnehmenden Studierenden mit einbeziehen. Die Werke der Autoren von Cervantes bis Woolf bilden das vorgegebene Ausgangsmaterial des Seminars. Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Material und den quasi-mystischen Eigenschaften von Drucksachen hat die Klasse dazu veranlasst, zahlreiche experimentelle Veröffentlichungen, Lesungen und Performances auf erzählerischen oder poetischen Grundlagen zu produzieren.

Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt.
Eintritt 4,00 € / ermäßigt 2,00 €, für Mitglieder frei.

Bild: Pure Fiction