Annette Kelm – Staub

Annette Kelm
Staub
Opening: Thursday, 6 November 2014, 7 pm
Exhibition: 7 November – 21 December 2014

Annette Kelm was born in Stuttgart in 1975 and is among the most outstanding female representatives of a younger guard of photographers who have drawn international attention through a new perspective on the world. With her individual photos and series depicting arrangements of everyday objects, portraits, architecture and landscapes or seemingly unusual narratives, Kelm creates images which she uses not only to expose how our perception and our vision function, but also to reflect upon cultural and sociopolitical topics.

In spite of the conceptual components that characterise the artist’s work, these photographs are defined by a subtle – but simultaneously touching – emotionality and temperament which make them into fascinating and lastingly resonant images.

At the Kölnischer Kunstverein, particular emphasis will be placed on the artist’s work during the last five years, which will be presented through a representative selection of works, some of which will be shown publicly for the first time.

A publication will be published on the occasion of the exhibition.

Guided Tours through the exhibition:

19 November, 5 pm with Moritz Wesseler
17 December, 5 pm with Carla Donauer

Supported by:

kunststiftung nrw

Annette Kelm – Staub

Annette Kelm
Staub
Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 6. November 2014, 19 Uhr
Ausstellung: 7. November – 21. Dezember 2014

Annette Kelm, 1975 in Stuttgart geboren, zählt zu den herausragenden Vertreterinnen einer jüngeren Garde von Fotografen, die international mit einem neuen Blick auf die Welt für Aufmerksamkeit gesorgt haben. Mit ihren Einzelaufnahmen und Bildserien, die unter anderem Arrangements von Objekten des Alltags, Portraits, Architekturen und Landschaften oder ungewöhnlich anmutende Narrationen wiedergeben, schafft Kelm Bilder, mit denen sie nicht nur die Funktionsweise unserer Wahrnehmung und unseres Sehens offenlegt, sondern ebenfalls kultur- und gesellschaftspolitische Themen reflektiert.

Trotz der konzeptuellen Komponenten, die das Werk der Künstlerin kennzeichnen, sind die Bilder von einer subtilen, aber zugleich berührenden Emotionalität und Stimmung geprägt, welche die Arbeiten zu faszinierenden und lange nachhallenden Gebilden macht.

Im Kölnischen Kunstverein wird insbesondere das Schaffen der Künstlerin der letzten fünf Jahre in den Fokus gerückt und anhand einer Auswahl von repräsentativen, zum Teil erstmals öffentlich gezeigten Arbeiten vorgestellt.

Öffentliche Führungen zur Ausstellung:

19. November, 17 Uhr mit Moritz Wesseler
17. Dezember, 17 Uhr mit Carla Donauer

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der:

kunststiftung nrw